Shellfish Classification Agreed in England and Wales

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Taken from The Food Standards Agency Website: -
The Agency has agreed the 2008-09 classification areas for shellfish production in England and Wales.
with the Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science
(CEFAS) in Weymouth, the Agency agreed the classification in accordance
with EC regulations and the classification came into effect on 1
Shellfish production areas are classified according to the
results of monthly microbiological sampling that monitors the amounts
of E. coli per 100g of shellfish flesh.
Production areas fall into
three classes (see below) and refer to areas where E. coli has been
found. Areas with greater levels of E. coli than class C are designated
as ‘prohibited’ and are those considered unsuitable, for public health
reasons, for harvesting shellfish.
For our press release, visit or contact